On the streets?

Why are there homeless people living on the streets of your city? They are there because they want to be there, right? Your government provides enough housing, enough help.

Although there are people living on the streets because they want to ‘drop out’ of society, a significant number are actually there because of addiction, mental illness, domestic abuse, and a lack of governement support.

I read two interesting articles about this today. The first highlights how easy it is to become homeless, the second reports that homelessness in the UK has risen by 26 percent in the last four years, with a lack of affordable housing being one of the principal reasons for the rise.

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jun/25/how-i-became-homeless-cant-happen-to-you-think-again

http://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jun/25/homelessness-crisis-england-perfect-storm

As a Christian, the response is simple:

the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in,I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.    Matthew 25 v 34-36.

Categories: Social concern | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “On the streets?

  1. A. F.

    As a Christian the response is simple but as a Christian I also sometimes wonder about the meaning behind Mark 14:7/Matthew 26:11. “the poor you will always have with you, but you will not always have me.” This is not meant to be seen as an excuse to simply walk by and do nothing. The verse quoted above clearly shows that. But since the fall, the world around us is in a constant state of decay and it will not change for the better until He returns. When I walk past a homeless man I often wonder if the loaf of bread or the cup of coffee is enough? “If the poor will always be amongst us”, can there really be a solution to homelessness? In light of that verse, what should our focus as Christians be? Questions I sincerely do not have an answer to but deem them worth the thought.

  2. Hi A.F,

    Good comment there. I read up a bit about it and found two lines of thought.

    Thought one: It was not meant as a prediction that there will always be poverty in the world, but Jesus was instead predicting his own crucifixion.

    See: http://www.catholiccincinnati.org/56108/the-poor-you-will-always-have-its-not-a-prediction/

    Thought two: The context of this verse fits into Deuteronomy 15 and what our attitude should be towards the poor. This should be one of kindness, and that God will bless us for it.

    See: http://poserorprophet.wordpress.com/2008/09/06/john-128-what-does-it-mean-to-always-have-the-poor-with-us/

    God Bless! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

